jump to navigation

My first dive September 14, 2008

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log.
Tags: , ,
trackback

My first dive wasn’t logged. It was summer, around 1978 plus or minus a couple of years, and my friend Dennis’ little brother Ian was a recently certified diver. We set out to go diving in St. Mary’s Quarry in southwestern Ontario, first stopping to rent some gear at a local dive shop. It must have been obvious to the shop owner that two of us had no experience, asking for “flippers” and so on.

There wasn’t much to see on the dive, conducted without the benefit of an SPG, Octo, Depth Gauge or BC. I remember having trouble telling which was was up – Ian advised watching my bubbles after the dive finished. I had a sudden onrush of vertigo, maybe due to a ruptured eardrum as my ear hurt for a couple of days afterwards.

When breathing got difficult I pulled the J-Valve and headed for shore. Without a snorkel I breathed from the regulator until I ran out of air again and continued with an arduous swim to shore.

All in all this experience didn’t attract me to the sport of diving. Ian joined the Canadian Navy and I haven’t seen Dennis in years.

Comments»

1. Reel Recovery – Part 2 « Chronicle of an older diver - September 1, 2009

[…] now ends a phase of my blog which started from my first post about my first dive. The next dive in sequence was on September 28th, 2008 when I helped out with an open water class […]

Like

2. Deepstop Blog – 1 year on « Chronicle of an older diver - September 15, 2009

[…] blog started out with my first dive, and progressed through my log book on each dive or dive trip that I’ve done in my three […]

Like


Leave a Reply

