jump to navigation

My “First” Visit to Australia September 16, 2008

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log.
Tags: ,
trackback

I was born in Sydney, Australia, and moved to Ottawa, Canada in 1967, then to Syracuse New York in 1969, London, Ontario in 1972 and Toronto, Ontario in 1990. In August 1981 my parents thought they owed my a return visit to see my relatives, and we booked for a 5 week visit. Part of my trip, combined with some business, was to go alone up the coast of Queensland as far as Cairns. One day I took a catamaran over to Green Island and rented some snorkeling gear.

I was blown away! Schools of hundreds of brightly coloured fish, giant clams, and amazing visibility. Compared to my previous quarry snorkeling and diving ventures, this was a whole new world of wonder. I resolved shortly afterward to learn to dive, and enrolled in an NASDS (taken over by SSI in 1999) open water course at Deep Three in London, Ontario, instructed by Mike Flanagan. I heard the shop is closed now, although it had been many years since I’d been in there for reasons I’ll describe in a later post.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

