jump to navigation

First Dive Trip: Georgian Bay Islands September 22, 2008

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log.
Tags: ,
trackback

The Saturday after I was certified we took a trip to Georgian Bay that the dive shop arranged, to dive some of the easy wrecks. It took about 4 hours to drive there from London, where I was living at the time, and along with some others I camped at Awenda Provincial Park.

We drank a fair bit at that park. Our beverage of choice then was beer, and most of us woke up with a bit of a hangover. Out on the boat on hot day, getting into my gear with a bit of a chop, some of us were feeling pretty queasy. The discomfort went away as soon as we jumped into the water. Of course even then we would never dive the same day after having even a single drink, but these days I’m ultra careful about the night before as well. I wouldn’t have more than two beers in the evening if I’m diving the next day, and with a technical dive, it’s a maximum of one, and usually zero.

The first dive, on Sunday, September 19, 1982 was at Watcher’s Reef, on the wreck of the Thomas Cranage (I wrote Thomas Carnegie in my log book, but recent research suggests otherwise). At a maximum depth of 25 feet even with my limited experience I managed a bottom time of 45 minutes and came out with 700 PSI. I also logged that visibility was 40 feet and the bottom was rocky, which is not unusual for Georgian Bay. My buddy’s name was Owen Thomas.

The second dive, starting at twenty to one, was on an unknown wreck near the Hope Island lighthouse. Viz was only twenty feet, depth up to 40’, and the bottom consisted of sand and pebbles.

One of the wrecks was the Mapledawn, a steel-hulled vessel that has lies in about 30 feet of water. We were all diving with wet suits, mine a rental, as dry suits were considerably more expensive (in constant dollars) then, and being younger, I was relatively poorer. Late in the season in relatively shallow water it wasn’t freezing cold like other Lake Huron dives. I was out of the water at about twenty past four. Instead of Owen, on this dive my buddy was Chris Somann.

You might guess from these sparse notes that I wasn’t a prolific log book writer. Guilty as charged. That’s one thing I’ve changed recently. These days I have to write in small print to get everything in, especially my own performance on the dive. If I’m not my own worst critic, I doubt I’ll become a better diver. I can also look back on a season and recount the lessons learned, to make sure I don’t forget them next time. You also never know when you might decide to write a blog about your dives….

The Mapledawn was my last dive of 1982.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

