jump to navigation

Scuba Diving in Kauai Hawaii October 20, 2008

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Three years had passed since my last dive in Jamaica. I’d been living in downtown Toronto then moved to a house in the ‘burbs in early 1997. I’d also travelled extensively for my job and not taken advantage of the diving opportunities, so we hadn’t taken any sun holidays.

In 1998 we needed a cheap holiday and with all the air miles I’d built up I booked a return trip for two to Hawaii and an inexpensive hotel on the island of Kauai. We arrived in Honolulu a little after midnight with a connecting flight leaving before 6AM so we didn’t book any accommodation, deciding instead to hang around the airport. Unfortunately, the airport designers had anticipated this and fitted the place out with the most uncomfortable seating possible, concrete benches everyone. So we had a very long 4 hours or so waiting to board for Kauai. The departure lounges were also air-conditioned to the point of pain, and even sitting on a bench outside you felt the icy blast every time the doors opened.

Kauai is in a word rustic. Roosters hang out by the side of the roads, many of which are dirt. Still, it is a beautiful wild place and we enjoyed touring around in a rented car, although our contract explicitly forbade travel on dirt roads. It was April 1998, around the time Pol Pot died, but the trade winds were blowing steadily across the island and lying on the beach was OK but not particularly hot.

I found a decent dive operator who took me on a couple of boat dives. What I remember most is the Turtles. Despite having dived in the Caribbean and Bermuda, I’d never seen a Turtle underwater. They were great – unafraid and swimming all around us. Hawaii has a lot of unique fish, with somewhat comical native names like humuhumunukunuku’āpua’a .

My dive logging was flagging once more, with only a single line entry for Hawaii, without even a day of the month recorded. If you’ve kept up with me so far – thank you – I promise that I’ll have more interesting descriptions of the dives as I catch up with the present, as I’m much more diligent logging dives of late.

We spent a fair bit of time on Poipu Beach. The endangered Hawaiian Monk Seals lounged around on the beach, protected from interference by strict laws. It is a nice beach, with a decent restaurant close by, but the previously mentioned strong winds made the experience less enjoyable than it could have been.

We were there for 10 days, and it was a fitting end to a long Canadian winter

Comments»

1. Advanced Open Water Scuba Diver Training in Ocho Rios « Chronicle of an older diver - October 23, 2008

[…] about going diving. That might have been because it was included in the price, unlike my visits to Hawaii and Bali, and also that I could walk to dive boat, which is a great convenience. I showed the staff […]

Like


Leave a Reply

