jump to navigation

PADI Assistant Instructor Course October 30, 2008

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Training.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

So I’ve told my local dive shop that pending approval from my wife, I’m signing on for the Assistant Instructor Course starting on Nov 7th. Some of the training is in the open water, which is now at 49 degrees Fahrenheit (9C). Wearing a dry suit will make for harder work, with more drag and attention to buoyancy, but it will be worth it.

The course will be taught jointly by Brad, our local dive shop owner, and Ed, who is planning to do his Course Director training in Malaysia this winter. Brad is contemplating doing that program next year. I think he’d like the shop to become a PADI Career Development Centre, which is what you get to be when you have a Course Director on Staff. It costs about $10,000 for the 2 week course, so it’s quite an investment for our little shop and Brad’s part-time diving career.

They’re both good instructors. I’ve taken Brad’s Tec Deep, Divemaster, Dry Suit, Wreck, Drift and Night Diving courses and they’ve all been practical and informative. Ed will want to put on his first IDC Class in the Spring and I expect I’ll be in it. It doesn’t look like I’ll have a chance to do Trimix this winter so this is a good option for me.

I’m not sure what I’ll do once I’m an instructor. I can probably find the time to do a little teaching during the summer, as I don’t want to lose what I will have learned. At least it will give me something to write about in this blog.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

