jump to navigation

Diving the Keystorm, St. Lawrence River December 11, 2008

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

The St. Lawrence River near Brockville Ontario is a unique place for divers in my area, because the water is really warm in comparison to anywhere else in the region. For my first dive there, on the Labour Day Weekend of 2006 (September 2nd, just 2 days before Steve Irwin was killed by a Stingray).

Our first dive of the weekend was the Keystorm, which is about 100 yards into the US side of the river. At one time Canadian divers could freely go directly to the site, but after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, we now have to go upriver to Heart Island (where Boldt Castle is built) and clear immigration. Since 2006, the restrictions are even tighter and now 24 hours notice is required, and the boat operators are required to post a $5,000 bond at the beginning of the season in case they transgress the rules. I hope everyone in the US feels much safer now that they’re protected from terrorists posing as  Canadian scuba divers.

I wrote in my log book that I was diving with Greg J. He’d been on the Keystorm lots of times and gave me a bit of a tour. We went down to the bottom at 111 feet and gazed upwards at the wreck, did some easy penetrations (just inside the openings to look around and then exit), and we found the “talk box” as we worked our way up the wreck, which is on a slope. When we stuck our heads up into the opening, I took the regulator out of my mouth and said “I wonder what the air quality is like in here”. We exchanged a few more words and left quickly.

The water temperature was a balmy 21C (69F) and my only exposure protection was a full-length 3mm wet suit. I was even using my tropical full foot fins and only 10 pounds of lead. I could have used less weight (and have since) but I only owned two 5 pound weights at the time and had to settle for that. Due to the depth the dive lasted just over half an hour.

Comments»

1. Diving the Kinghorn, St. Lawrence River « Chronicle of an older diver - December 14, 2008

[…] September 2nd, 2006 after diving the Keystorm, we headed back to the Canadian side of the river, checking through immigration via a phone call […]

Like

2. Diving the Roy A. Jodrey « Chronicle of an older diver - September 6, 2012

[…] site, right next to the US Coast Guard station. The others went in the opposite direction to the Keystorm and […]

Like


Leave a Reply

