jump to navigation

2007 – My year of Scuba Diving Certifications December 29, 2008

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Training.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

My fourth day in Cozumel on November 23rd was my last dive in 2006. In 2006 I’d finished my dry suit course and signed up for both IANTD Deep Diving and Advanced Nitrox Courses, finishing the entire classroom portion but only 1 actual training dive. The last thing on my mind was starting Divemaster training. I had tended to agree with Michael Bane, the author of the book, Diving on the Edge, that advanced training was more rewarding than professional training. I think belonging to the dive club changed that. The club is well stocked with people with pro certifications, and the enthusiasm tends to rub off.

So when Brad announced an information meeting for the Divemaster course he was running I decided to show up. He talked about the program, and then mentioned that anyone with a technical certification could act as a divemaster for future technical courses. That is what hooked me and I signed up on the spot. So now I was enrolled in two diving courses.

I didn’t know at the time I would complete 3 more courses before the end of the year. The drift and night courses were really extensions of the technical diving training. Some of the practice dives we did were in environments where I could complete my qualifications for the other courses. The Wreck diving course was a complete add-on. I also had a sudden trip to Singapore and Hong Kong on business during that time (between the wreck course and the Tobermory diving weekend) and my wife was fairly irritated with me by the end of the summer.

Looking back, 2007 was the year I really learned to dive. Then again, 2008 seems a bit like that as well. No doubt this means I still have lots to learn.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

