jump to navigation

Fatality at Scuba Club Christmas Party December 31, 2008

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Emergencies.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

My wife and I left our dive club party to the more enthusiastic drinkers at about 10:30. I’d had nothing to drink and my wife had 1 beer. We both feel better with little or nothing to drink – something to do with age, I think.

There is a Karaoke bar downstairs from the restaurant where a lot of the club members ended up. It wasn’t exactly hopping, but there were continuous performances going on. One man, not from the divng club, was singing and dancing, then sat down and started gasping. Dave, an assistant instructor and technical diver I’ve dived with fairly often, ended up giving him CPR, and a woman who was on an oxygen unit donated it to help revive him.

He was taken away in an ambulance – and even though the paramedics had said he was reviving, they found out later that he’d died. It was a sad story but at least he had the best chance possible with a group of first aid-trained divers around. The only thing that would have helped more would have been an on-site defibrillator.

I got this story Sunday from the guys who were on my AI course. I haven’t spoken to Dave yet, but will be interested in his version of the story. It’s another example person who died despite the prompt application of CPR. I hope some day to report a case of CPR saving a life – I’m sure it does sometimes.

Comments»

1. Naples Scuba Diving - January 1, 2009

All I can say is that we divers gave him the best chance to survive. I too believe there are those that have been saved, but they are probably more the exception than the rule.

Like

2. Emergency First Response Instructor Course « Chronicle of an older diver - January 25, 2009

[…] instructors (and I found out later a divemaster as well) gave CPR to a heart attack victim. It turns out the man lived after all. Dave and Pete gave the guy CPR, then the paramedics arrived with a defibrillator and told them it […]

Like


Leave a Reply

