jump to navigation

Cozumel Day 3: Cedral Wall February 27, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Continuing with February 10, 2009 diving in Cozumel with Blue XT Sea Diving. This 50 minute dive down to a maximum of 78 feet was just another drift dive in Cozumel, with its abundance of sea life and coral. The water temperature was again about the lowest it gets in Cozumel, at 25C (77F), which is a few degrees more than the warmest I see in Canada.

I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves…

Black Grouper

Black Grouper

This Black Grouper was almost as long as me, and was lazily holding station by swimming against the current. I drifted by about 6 feet away.

French Angelfish

French Angelfish

Angelfish are really common in Cozumel, so this isn’t one of those rare finds, but nice to see and my wife likes them.

cozday3a-juv-spotted-drumJuvenile Spotted Drumfish seemed to be everywhere on this trip, as were juvenile fish of many other species. I suspect that February is prime hatching time in the reefs (and February dives in other parts of the Caribbean and elsewhere have proved similar). I think we found at least one Drumfish every day we were diving, and eventually I stopped photographing them.

With my little Pentax Optio 5Si camera, now quite obsolete (the current model is 1/2 the price as has 12 mpix, but naturally doesn’t fit my underwater housing), has a significant delay in between when you press the shutter button and when the picture is taken – almost a second. So it’s really hard to get good photos of Drumfish as they never sit still, changing direction constantly.

Some day I’d like to get a really good underwater camera, but I’m a bit afraid of the expense, as there’s the price of the camera, then the housing, then the flash units, and so forth. I could probably by a rebreather for the same amount of money, or a high definition underwater camera. I’m going to keep at it with what I’ve got now until I’ve finished all my diving courses and see where my interests lie at that time.

Squirrelfish

Squirrelfish

Like Angelfish, Squirrelfish are a dime a dozen in Cozumel.  My wife really likes this picture so I’m including it. In my book, any picture where the fish is more or less pointing towards the camera instead of away from it is a good one.

Cozumel Splendid Toadfish

Cozumel Splendid Toadfish

The toadfish is a cool looking creature that makes a low sound you can often hear without being able to locate the source. They hide under ledges so I’m often upside down when taking the picture, which, along with the delay in the shutter and surround current means that I have difficulty framing the picture properly. To date, I’ve never taken a decent picture of one. On my last dive of the trip, I had one lined up perfectly when my battery died.

Comments»

1. Cozumel Wrap Up « Chronicle of an older diver - March 21, 2009

[…] Cozumel Day 3: Cedral Wall […]

Like


Leave a Reply

