jump to navigation

Cozumel Day 5: Palancar Caves & Francesa Reef March 8, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

February 12, 2009. Bandida was late coming for me today at 9:05 instead of 8:30. No explanation given, and I didn’t ask for one. I had decided to call Blue XT Sea at 9:15 if they hadn’t arrived. I didn’t really mind them being late, as I just hung out on the beach anyway.

Arturo was our guide today. Each of the guides have a different orientation. Pedro is more adventurous, and I noticed on this trip he didn’t bang his tank so much as my last trip to Cozumel which I appreciated. We had some new guests this day, and Shauna (my guess at the spelling) hadn’t been in the water for a long time and it showed. The current wasn’t all that strong but she had trouble with her positioning and buoyancy control in the swim throughs. My only problem is I underestimate the length of my body + fins, giving the reef a swipe once in a while. I’ll blame it on the 4/3 magnification looking through the mask.

The downside of swim throughs is that they’re in the shadows, so there’s not as much sea life. If you look at the background behind this turtle you can see what I mean.

cozd5a-turtle

Dive time was 40 minutes with a maximum depth of 93 feet. During the surface interval the crew went into a nearby resort and didn’t come back for almost an hour and a half, which was half an hour longer than other times, and then they didn’t want to go far so we ended up at Francesa Reef. One of the other customers, Jennifer, was not happy with going back to the same old places and let them know it.

Francesa wasn’t that great compared to other dives. Saw a few fish, including the Scrawled Filefish below. The current was stronger on this dive, and the group spread out depending on how exposed each diver was to the current. Jennifer, who was very much into photography fell far behind, and Arturo and I were trying to locate her when I saw her camera flash more than 100 feet away. She eventually surfaced just before we did and we were all picked up by the boat.

Scrawled Filefish

Scrawled Filefish

While in some respects the dives were disappointing, as they say a bad day diving is better than a good day at the office, and this was by no means bad, just not as fantastic as some of my other dives on that trip.

Comments»

1. Cozumel Wrap Up « Chronicle of an older diver - March 21, 2009

[…] Cozumel Day 5: Palancar Caves & Francesa Reef […]

Like


Leave a Reply

