jump to navigation

Getting old can be a drag March 25, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Miscellany.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Today is my 54th birthday. This year I’ll be getting certified as an instructor, and hopefully get as far as Master Scuba Diver Trainer before the year is out. I might also get Trimix certified although that may have to wait  another year. It might just take too much time.

So far, I’ve come through life in pretty good health. I’ve done my share of unhealthy living, but I get better and better as I get older, so I have hopes for continued health for some time year.

But you never know what’s around the corner. An old friend of mine who is my age is in hospital with brain tumours. I’m waiting to hear how bad it is but it will be somewhere between a lengthy treatment with uncertain outcome and having a few months to live. It’s very sad but it comes with the territory, and is a sober reminder of what is in store for all of us.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

