jump to navigation

Instructor Stuff April 8, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Ecology, Training.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

There sure is a lot to buy when you want to be an instructor. Here’s a list of what I still need. Fortunately my rescue diver manual, divemaster manual, diving encyclopedia and diving knowledge workbook are all current, and I have the instructor workbook and instructor manual from the AI course, with the latest manual coming free with my PADI membership.

  • Peak Performance Buoyancy Specialty Instructor Outline
  • Project AWARE Specialty Program Instructor Outline
  • AWARE – Coral Reef Conservation specialty Instructor Outline
  • eRDPml
  • Open Water Diver Quizzes and Exam Booklet
  • Adventures in Diving Manual
  • Rescue Diver Final Exams Booklet
  • Divemaster Final Exams Booklet
  • Aquatic Cue Cards – Open Water Diver, Adventures in Diving, Rescue Diver Divemaster and Discover Scuba Diving

Many of these are under $10, but the bundles of cue cards add up to a couple of hundred dollars. There is package called the Instructor Crew Pack which is about $800 but wasteful as I already own most of what I need. My local dive shop has given me several items at no charge that were just lying around, which has also been great, and include several videos.

Speaking of videos, I have a copy of the Rescue Diver pro video now, which has both the instructor  video and the student video. I watched the instructor video, then went to student one and realised how much I’d forgotten or never been taught. It’s almost 4 years since I took the course, and the finer points were long gone. I’m glad I gave it another look.

Looking at the above list reminds me of how difficult it will be for me to do anything with project AWARE, especially with no coral reefs within a thousand miles of here. Environmental issues are very important to me, and a couple of months ago I wrote a report on the use of information technology for conservation, but there is so much information readily available, from Cousteau movies to TED.com, I have a hard time figuring out why someone would come to (more to the point – pay) their local dive shop for a short course on it. Maybe my expectations are too high.

I’ll have to give this more thought. It would be great to teach an environmental course (my dad was an environmental engineer, so I’ve had a big dose of pragmatism in my outlook). The Great Lakes still have more than their fair share of pollutants, with the biggest problem these days being the presence of persistent organic pollutants like PCBs that enter the atmosphere in other countries and end up in the food chain in the lakes, especially the colder ones like Superior and also in the Arctic.

Comments»

1. quikflik - April 8, 2009

have you considered writing a distinct specialty?
something that fits within your environment?

we dont really have the coral reefs that PADI Project Aware courses refer to but we do have marine reserves and i am considering how to tie this into my teaching

Like

2. deepstop - April 9, 2009

That’s an interesting idea. I could likely work something out over next winter for summer 2010. This year I’ll be busy getting my OWSI and hopefully MSDT. All that research would give me some good content for the blog as well!

Thanks for the suggestion.

Like


Leave a Reply

