jump to navigation

Tired but happy June 7, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Training.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’ve now successfully completed my PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor exam. I was up before 4AM this morning so I had a chance to get some breakfast and make sure I had everything I could ever possibly need for the exam. Today was the pool work and the classroom presentation, which both went very well.

In the pool we did a demonstration/evaluation, which for me was quite easy with the skill being underwater breathing without a mask for 1 minute. I have my briefings and debriefings  down pretty well now so all I really have to do is not screw up. Yoon, my “student”, performed the skill correctly but only did it for 5 seconds or so before replacing his mask. I had to have him repeat the skill for 1 minute, and realized I’d not worn my watch. So I counted out the time and everything was OK.

On the skill circuit, it was all perfect except the first one, which was regulator recovery. When I threw the reg away, it started to free flow and so was in my arm when I swept for it. Fortunately, while in the pool a couple of weeks ago, I practiced recovery by grabbing the hose near the regulator. Not only was the practice useful in confidently reaching back for the hose, but also in identifying which hose the primary reg was attached to. So without much difficulty I recovered it without having to get help or go for my alternate. So 4 points out of 5 for that one – I did it correctly and slowly, but didn’t exactly “make it look easy”.

So barring  any paperwork difficulties in the next few days I’ll officially be a PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor. I also have 3 fellow instructors-to-be, Steve, Matt and Marty, which is great. We will have a lot of fun this summer, I think.

Comments»

1. psuscubaguy - June 10, 2009

Congratulations on your certification. Welcome to the instructor fold.

Like


Leave a Reply

