jump to navigation

Now that I’m an instructor (almost) June 9, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Shipwrecks, Training.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’ve qualified to be a PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor, and await the processing of paperwork. Next weekend the new group of instructors will go to Brockville, Ontario to complete the MSDT Prep training, which is about teaching specialties, and as I’ve mentioned I’m qualifying for wreck, deep, EAN, drift, O2 provider, digital underwater photography and dry suit. So I’ve dedicated 5 full weekends to this training (not counting my AI course and the EFR instructor training) and my wife is getting a bit fed up and is reminding me of various household chores that are falling behind (like painting, gardening and so on, which are much less fun and exciting than scuba diving).

So I need to lay low for a couple of weeks and work my way back into the water (and teaching of course) slowly. Then I received this email….

There is an upcoming Nautical Archaeology Society (NAS) Introductionand Part I Certificate in Foreshore and Underwater Archaeology course coming to Hamilton from July 3 – 5. I’m signing up for this. If anyone else is interested let me know and we can arrange travel, etc…

Here are the links (1) (2)

Here we go again. I’m wondering how I’m going to “sell” this one to my wife as I’ve always wanted to take this course. It’s an underwater archaeology course about mapping shipwreck sites – way cool and a good addition to my instructor knowledge given the number of shipwrecks around these parts. I’m also planning to participate as an instructor/safety diver in the upcoming wreck course put on by the dive shop in mid-July at Brockville, so everything would tie together nicely.

We’ll see.

Celebrating passing the IE with Champagne

Celebrating passing the IE with some Champagne

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

