jump to navigation

PADI Pro Weekend: Diving the Kinghorn June 19, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log, Shipwrecks.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

The Kinghorn is one of the wrecks I’ve dived the most, located conveniently on the Canadian side of the St. Lawrence River not far from the Caigers dock and directly in front of the dock in Rockport, Ontario from where the wreck can be shore dived by those with plenty of gas and a willingness to incur some decompression obligation.

Our dive on it was pretty straightforward. Buddy Steve Irwin and I pulled ourselves down the line from the mooring buoy to a concrete block a little off the starboard bow. There is also a line that runs to the stern that I’ve used on other occasions. On the short swim over to the wreck, I noticed that a pair of tacky lawn ornaments had been placed there since my last visit. We then made our way with the mild current the length of the ship to the stern, and entered through the first deck opening, which is partially covered by a ship’s wheel.

We swam slowly in the darkness of the interior. It was a dull day so not a lot of light penetrated through the many openings in the ship’s deck. Some days, when the sun is bright, the interplay of light and shadow inside the wreck is quite beautiful. This time, we contented ourselves with a pleasant meander inside, stopping to inspect the anachronistic “artefacts” placed there over the years by divers wanted to add some entertainment value to the experience.

Once we reached the last opening near the bow, we exited and let ourselves drift back again to the stern, and went in one more time. At a maximum depth of 95 feet, this wreck shouldn’t been taken lightly, but now having dived it more than half a dozen times it’s now like an old friend and I feel at ease there.

As my doubles had been almost empty from diving the Keystorm and the America, I’d switched over to one of my AL80 tanks filled with EAN31. This involved removing the doubles from my backplate and harness, and installing my newly acquired single tank adapter and the tank bands from my Seaquest Raider. I used an 18 pound weight belt (vs. no weight with my double steel tanks) which was more than enough, and the entire combination felt comfortable right from the start. Now that I’ve tried it, I might not use my Seaquest Raider again, and start using one of the shop rental BC units for instruction in the pool, or buy something used and cheap.

With both of us on Nitrox, we did not require decompression for the half hour dive despite it being the third dive of the day. Our dive lasted 34 minutes including the 3 minute safety stop, and I emerged with 400 PSI remaining in my tank, having started with 3000. While this is plenty of reserve for a single diver, if someone else needed air in an emergency just before ascending then likely we would have been out of air before the end of the safety stop, especially with the increased consumption due to the increased anxiety of the situation. Something to consider when pushing the reserves too hard.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

