jump to navigation

Deco diving the Shearwater Pursuit July 19, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Equipment, Shipwrecks, Technical Diving, Training.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Did 3 dives yesterday to a couple of wrecks, one at 65 feet (the Gaskin) for an hour and forty minutes on EAN39, then two to 95 feet (the Kinghorn) each for almost 40 minutes on EAN 34, with only about 20 minutes of surface interval between dives 2 and 3.

The computer when into deco on both the 2nd and 3rd dives. On the 3rd, it was quite odd that the only required stop was at 20 feet, and then it cleared, with no stop needed at 10 feet. On the first dive I also had some EAN50 and I used it while waiting for students to arrive on the wreck. This helped keep the computer well out of deco.

Once again, compared to my fellow divers with Cochran computers, I had deco while they were far from it. They were using slightly richer mixes than I (or at least they measured them higher), but the Shearwater’s default setting of GF 30/85 seems much more conservative than the Cochrans. I’m doing a longer deeper dive tomorrow on the Daryaw, so I’ll see how much I rack up for that. I might set it to 10/90 as it will be my only dive of the day.

I also changed the backlighting mode on the computer to light up whenever I pressed a button. Because the display changes when you do this you have to cycle back to the  main display if that’s want you want to see, but I found it more satisfactory to be able to turn the light on and off when I needed it than to use the automatic mode. Also, in auto mode when you shine your light on the computer the backlight goes out, so if you want to have both to read it more easily you can do that.

I did some gas switches underwater today as well. These are so simple they’re not really worth describing. Just 3 button pushes for the standard switch to the highest percentage O2 gas.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

