jump to navigation

The Arabia, Tobermory Ontario August 8, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log, Shipwrecks, Technical Diving.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

The Arabia is one of the nicest wrecks in Fathom Five National Park. It also bears the dubious distinction of being the site of 12 fatalities over several decades of diving. On August 9th, 2008, my 3rd dive on the wreck, with little current, good weather and excellent visibility, there was no indication of any particular danger.

Diving doubles with an EAN50 deco bottle , Andrew, Rich and me did a nice 40 minute dive on the wreck including 10 minutes of simulated decompression (Rich and Andrew were still in training, so no real deco for them). Water temperature was 7C (45F) with 30-50 foot visibility.

The only hitch was on the way back up. There’s a line leading from the starboard bow over to a cement block, then another line leading to a buoy on the surface. Swimming behind the other divers, my tanks became caught in the horizontal line. The other two were on their way up and didn’t notice my predicament, not that I blame them because they had enough to concentrate on managing all their new gear, and immediately contingencies started running through my mind. I had lots of gas (I surfaced with 900 PSI in my doubles, and 1500 in my deco AL80), and the options quickly ran through my mind.

My first thought was to cut the line with my knife. That was a sure way out and so let me know that I didn’t have to worry about taking my time. Sure enough, it only took about a minute to feel behind me and untangle the line from my manifold, and before long I was on my way back to the surface. While I was never in any danger, I’m happy when these little problems arise because they prepare for the time when I might have something more serious occur.

Comments»

1. thescubalady - August 10, 2009

I enjoyed your story, thanks! I’m new to wordpress- lot’s to learn!

Leslie

Like

deepstop - August 10, 2009

Hi Leslie,

Good luck with your WordPress Adventures. For what it’s worth I only barely decided to approve your comment. You’ll find if you start blogging that you’ll get a lot of complimentary comments that are mostly intended only for the purpose of linking back to one’s own web site for advertising purposes. Yours may well be one of those, but since you run a dive shop I’m reasonably OK with that.

In general I only approve comments that clearly relate to the topic of the post.

Cheers,
Chris

Like


Leave a Reply

