jump to navigation

Three More Nitrox Divers August 8, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Training.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Congratulations to Lenka, Carlos and Walt on getting their Enriched Air Diver Specialty last Wednesday evening. We completed the entire course and all the paperwork in one very long evening, and with the exam at the end it was tough but everyone made it. Aside from the course content, which I really like to teach, one thing I like is that it’s self contained, so when we’re done with the classroom session the students are ready to certify, no chasing down knowledge reviews after the dives, or vice-versa.

I’m a bit disappointed that PADI is simplifying the curriculum, and going to elearning, but it’s a natural evolution I suppose. Tables, which I think illustrate decompression concepts well to the beginner, are gone in favour of the more pragmatic computer diving (to be honest I stopped using tables as soon as I’d written the exam,  until I began technical diving). I imagine that divers will have to take an entry level technical course now to get the same content, although I haven’t yet seen the new materials from PADI.

While the tables and other content that goes with it will still be an option for the Enriched Air Specialty, the majority of students want the card to go diving Nitrox and are less concerned with understanding the concepts. That’s a pity.

Comments»

1. Paul - August 9, 2009

I completely agree. The industry as a whole seems to be moving to faster courses and more use of technology with less teaching of concepts and less practice. I think everyone needs to learn and understand tables first, before they can use and benefit from a computer. I love technology, but I’m not sure I’m completely ready to blindly trust it with my life.

Like


Leave a Reply

