jump to navigation

The last stop September 12, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Technical Diving.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

From the standard 15′ safety stop the change in ambient pressure is almost 1.5:1, or the same as from 100 feet to 58 feet, so it makes sense to make the slowest part of the ascent near the surface.

But usually what I see is divers going up the line slowly and carefully, but once their 3 minute stop is complete (or the 10′ stop for staged decompression dives), they’re usually at the surface in a matter of seconds. If I’m diving with them, it usually works out well for me as I don’t have to wait to get on the ladder and back into the boat, but I wish they’d be a bit more conservative.

On deco dives, I can tell by the Gradient Factor display on my computer that this is the part of the diver where I come closest to the maximum allowable supersaturation of Nitrogen. Going slowly increases the safety margin, I think.

Comments»

1. Brockville 2009 & my Shearwater Pursuit « Chronicle of an older diver - October 1, 2009

[…] I’ve mentioned the importance of a slow ascent from the last stop, where the gradient factor is highest, and you can see from the graph that I […]

Like


Leave a Reply

