jump to navigation

Deepstop Blog – 1 year on September 15, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Miscellany.
Tags: , ,
trackback

When I started this blog a year ago it was mainly to find out first hand what blogging was all about. Since then, it’s become a bit of an obsession, which is necessary I think to be able to continuously write new posts day after day. I haven’t done too badly in that category, with 317 posts in 367 days.

While I have little expectation of becoming a celebrity blogger or being so wildly popular that I can retire on the advertising income, it is satisfying to see that in a year I regularly see more than 1,500 page views per month and have accumulated almost 15,000 total visits since inception. I was particularly pleased with the attention given my serendipitous encounter with the underwater memorial for Maureen Matous, which touched the lives of her friends and family.

The blog started out with my first dive, and progressed through my log book on each dive or dive trip that I’ve done in my three decades of off and on diving. That work is now complete, and what remains is future dives and editorializing, which is the most effort. It’s a bit early to start the story of my life, maybe I’ll do that in a decade or so.

Another thing I’ve been playing with is making posts far into the future. These may show up after I’m no longer here. WordPress didn’t seem to mind me scheduling a post for the year 2055, although who knows if the WordPress.com will exist or resemble its current form well enough to accommodate it.

Each of us leaves a mark on the earth – some more than others. Should mankind and our technologies survive and prosper over the coming centuries, the record I’ve left here may serve as that for me, and will perhaps be a lasting contribution. I like that.

Comments»

1. Moe - September 16, 2009

I found out about your blog for the first time in Oct 4 2008 and since then I am a silent RSS Feed reader of your blog. I was not a diver back then, but Iam now, Open Water diver. Now I think it is important to us “the readers” to appreciate and thank you for all your efforts you put in this blog.

Like

deepstop - September 16, 2009

Thanks Moe. Occasional feedback helps keep me going.

Cheers,
Chris

Like


Leave a Reply

