jump to navigation

Buoyancy Control, Day 2 October 8, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Dive Log, Training.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

To continue with my saga of the advanced open water course, on Day 2 there were 3 dives to get done. The first, a Nitrox dive, could be done without me as both divers had their own Nitrox compatible dive computers. Nevertheless, I sent Eric with them to make sure they didn’t get into too much trouble. He returned with stories of mad scrambles to control their buoyancy, but they survived, which is the only requirement on the Nitrox Adventure dive.

Meanwhile, I was asked to teach a young couple where the woman was a certified diver going through a refresher and the husband/boyfriend was doing his first open water dive. The departure was delayed by 3 leaky regulators in a row, then a BC with hole in the bladder. We entered the water on the boat ramp instead of a giant stride off the dock, as the water levels were a bit low. We swam underwater  along the line, and Lianne was holding the rocks in here bare hands as we progressed in the shallow water.

It took me some time to get her to understand my signals not to touch the rocks. They were covered in Zebra mussels, the shells of which are razor sharp. I’d asked them both to wear gloves for the dive but for some reason she didn’t, and being a certified diver to some extent I let her look out for herself. Sure enough, after the dive I was able to point out a little bit of blood on her hands. Fortunately the cut was minor.

We then went on a tour. The plan was to go to the speedboat, but we didn’t make it. Lianne had “floated” to the surface, while I was busy looking after my open water student (my first ever actually, all my students to date have been advanced or specialty). With about 5 minutes left to make it an official dive, I had to decide whether to surface and look for her, or continue. I decided to swim with my student back to the ascent line while looking around and up for her. I never did see her although I could clearly see the surface. I took my student up the line with a 3 minute safety stop, and upon surfacing she was there waiting for us.

This is probably the point where I lost my wrist watch. While I was putting on my dry suit I believe I put it in the flap pocket and then forgot about it, and it could have easily fallen out, and all the rolling over I did on the way to look up at the surface. Anyway I haven’t seen it since, which is a real shame because it was  a graduation present and I’ve been diving with it for 18 years, although I almost lost it on a deep dive once. I’d just had a new crystal put on it with a new battery also. I still hold out the faint hope I’ll find it under my car seat or something similar, but as I’ve searched high and low it now seems gone forever.

On our way back, I had the student do his tired diver tows to complete one of the flexible skills, and he’d done the snorkel/regulator exchange on the way out, so it was altogether a reasonable dive.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

