jump to navigation

Email Scam October 23, 2009

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Miscellany.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

A little off topic, but this one would be kind of fun, if only people would stop falling for these things. I’ve heard of this particular scam just recently. The premise is that someone you know has been mugged, arrested, sick, or whatever in some foreign country and now needs money. This one however is quite poorly executed.

By the way, for the first time ever, I replied to one of these (after stripping my contact details from my email signature). I said I’d be happy to help, and just send me details of the police report #, the hotel name, the airline and flight #, etc., and I would have a close friend in the RCMP help him out via the  local police department.

Of more  concern is how they got my friend’s email address, since the reply was requested through his legitimate address. I hope to find out soon. This comes less than 24 hours after another friend’s Facebook account was hacked… Let’s be careful out there in cyberspace!

This had to come in a hurry and it has left me in a devastating state.We are in some terrible situation and we really going to need your urgent help.Some days ago,unannounced,We came to visit a resort center in South Glamorgan UK,England…but we got mugged by some hoodlums and lost all our cash,credit cards,we are financially stranded right now and our return flight leaves in few hours time but we need some money to clear some bills,we didn’t bring our cellphone along since we did not get to roam them before coming over.So all we can do now is pay cash and get out of here quickly.we do not want to make a scene of this which is why we did not call my house,this is embarrassing enough.we was wondering if you could loan us some cash,will def refund it to you as soon as we arrive home just need to clear our Hotel bills and get the next plane home,As soon as we get home we will refund it immediately.Write me so we can let you know how to send it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

