jump to navigation

Underwater Photography April 12, 2010

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Photography.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I like taking pictures underwater and on the surface. The little pocket digital camera I use, bought in 2004, has a housing that is now worth more than many excellent new pocket cameras, which is one of the reasons underwater photography can be very costly.

Last week, I received (by mail order, which saved me about $500) a beautiful new Canon EOS 5D Mark II with a 24-105mm zoom lens. I’d love to use it underwater, but I would need.

  1. An underwater housing, $1,500 to about $5,000, depending on the depth, features and manufacturer.
  2. A wide-angle lens, $800-$2,500
  3. A waterproof case, maybe $200.
  4. At least one, but preferably two strobes and all the kit to mount and sync it, $1,000-$2,000
  5. Flood insurance, perhaps $100 year.

So we’re talking another $5,000-$10,000 on top of what I’ve already bought. I really wonder if I could really amortize this over the number of dives remaining in my lifetime where there would be good picture taking opportunities.

Still, it would be a lot of fun to try.

By the way, it’s an amazing camera. I’m enjoying having a  useful viewfinder again, and the image stabilization and ISO range make shooting in all sorts of low light and high contrast conditions a breeze, even when it’s in fully automatic mode.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

