jump to navigation

Beatles vs. Rolling Stones August 28, 2012

Posted by Chris Sullivan in Miscellany.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Please excuse the interlude from the theme of my blog. The only connection is with the “older” part of the title. I’m old enough to remember this stuff and also my mind rambles.

When I was young the Beatles and the Rolling Stones were emerging. The Beatles had the hair but otherwise clean-cut fun-loving image, while the Stones were the bad boys. One sang “I Want to Hold Your Hand” while Mick sang “Let’s Spend the Night Together”. Fans and historians might remember when Mick had to sing “Let’s Spend Some Time Together” to meet the requirements of network TV in the sixties.

There’s was also a big “who do you like better” thing going on and loyal fans willing to argue both sides. I must say that I was a bit more a Beatles fan early on but grew into the Stones in my teenage years. I even saw them live once but it wasn’t that great a concert (the “Voodoo Lounge” tour in an uncovered stadium (CNE) in the rain, where we were a long way from the stage).

Now, much later, I have XM Satellite radio in the car and like to listen to “Little Steven’s Underground Garage”. Besides Steven Van Zandt, sax player for Springsteen in the E Street Band and sidekick to Tony Soprano, Andrew Loog Oldham, former producer for the Stones is one of the disk jockeys. He likes to play obscure Stones songs and it struck me that I haven’t heard/don’t recognise a lot of them. Now the Stones cut more albums but there’s probably not a Beatles song that was released that I don’t know the title, tune and at least some of the lyrics. I wonder why? Is it the number of songs or are Beatles songs just more memorable, or does it go back to my younger more impressionable days where my memories are clearer?

I’m going diving in the St. Lawrence this weekend. Looking to do some deep diving where it’s too dark to take pictures with my minimal gear, although I’ll see what I can do, and report back here.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

